In short, Trash is the place where your deleted and modified files end up. Here you can recover them for up to 30 days.
Table of Contents
What is the Trash? (Go to Onlime.dk)
The trash on Onlime.dk is similar to the trash on Windows and Mac.
When you delete or modify a file or folder, it is moved to the Trash. It stays here for 30 days before being permanently deleted. Once deleted after this period, there is no option for recovery.
The 30 day period gives you time to recover deleted and modified files.
Which files are deleted and how are they deleted?
There are 2 ways files are moved to the Trash:
Files you actively delete yourself
All files you delete yourself will be moved to the Trash:
when you delete files on Onlime.dk
Files that are modified, renamed, moved or otherwise edited
When you have automatic backup of your folders on your computer, Onlime automatically updates and secures new and changed files in the selected folders. When a file is edited or renamed, the older version of the file is moved to the Trash.
Of course, the latest version of a file will stay exactly where you placed it.
The latest version of a file will never be deleted unless you do it yourself.
Did you receive an email about deleted files?
When many files are suddenly moved to the Trash cf. the above at once, our system responds by sending you an e-mail about it.
The e-mail is a notification only, which should make you aware that a major change has taken place in your files. The message notifies you of the change, and you may then want to review your folders and files to see why they have changed.
There are a number of normal situations where many files can be changed at once.
If you back up a program folder or a system folder:
In this type of folder there are often thousands of temporary files, which change continuously when your computer is turned on and you use different programs.
In general, we do not recommend that you back up this type folders. These types of folders are usually located under your user folder on your computer (for example, the C: / drive) or in a subfolder of the Documents folder.
We recommend that you take a thorough look at the folders that you have added for backup.
Exclude subfolders where there may potentially be program and system files.
If you move a large folder that you have backed up from one location to another on your computer. It could, for example. be if you moved a large folder with many files from your Desktop to Documents and you have automatic backup of both of these folders.
If you have a backup of a folder that other programs also use. This could e.g. be if you have a backup of your e-mail program (eg Outlook) or if you use a photo editor like Lightroom.
There are many files in the Trash - what do you need to do?
First, do not panic because there are many files in the Trash.
As explained above, there can be several very common reasons why there are many files in the Trash.
With that said, of course, you need to take it seriously if you can not find the immediate cause of the many files in the Trash.
If in doubt, take a thorough look at files and get an overview of where they come from.
Such a review may include:
Create an overview of your data on the devices you have backed up. Examine whether folders and files are where they usually are.
Assess whether you have recently made changes to a device that may have affected your folders and files. You may have installed new programs, formatted a hard disk, or simply cleaned up.
Examine what shared folders and files you have. Has there been many changes in a shared folder you have with a friend or colleague?
If you use Onlime Sync, you can also create an overview of folders and files here.
Start by mapping master folders and parent folders in which you have files and subfolders that are of value to you and that you have already added for automatic backup. Then work your way through the subfolders and files
Recover files from the Trash
You can restore files back to their original location. Open the Trash, select one or more files and click Restore.
Empty the Trash
If you want to free up space in your account, you can empty the Trash.
Select Empty Trash
Select Delete Forever
This will permanently delete all files and folders in the Trash. It will not be possible to recover these files.