There are two main ways to transfer files and folders to Onlime from a computer. Both are available after installing Onlime on your Windows or Mac.

Automatic backup

Sync


Automatic backup

After installing Onlime on your Windows or Mac, you can automatically back up files and folders from your computer to Onlime.

If you add a folder, Onlime will automatically mirror all content and any changes in the folder.

See how to add a folder to Backup.

By default, most people are interested in backing up the Images, Documents, and Desktop.

All files that are uploaded in this way will be found under Backed up on Onlime.dk.


Sync

With Onlime installed on Windows or Mac, you have access to a special folder in Explorer (Windows) or Finder (Mac).

The folder is called Onlime Sync, and the contents of this folder are mirrored both to Onlime and all your other computers where you have installed Onlime. This happens completely automatically and continuously.

Therefore, if you want to synchronize files between two or more computers, use Onlime Sync.

Learn about the difference between Backup and Sync.

Tip: Uploading files with the Onlime desktop client is the fastest and most efficient way to upload files.

Note: Onlime runs in the background regardless of whether you choose to use Backup or Sync.

Did this answer your question?