Here we show you how to delete local versions of photos and videos on your iPhone and iPad and keep them in the cloud. This way you can free up space on your device.

Haven't downloaded the app yet? Get it here.

Free up space

Remember to empty Recently Deleted

Free up space and iCloud

Live Photos and Photo Burst


Free up space

The Free Space feature enables you to free up space on your iPhone and iPad by deleting local versions of photos and videos that have already been backed up in the cloud.

There are 4 ways you can free up space on your iPhone and iPad:

  • Delete a photo or video outside of Onlime

  • Use the Free up space feature on a single image or video

  • Use the Free up space feature on all photos and videos

  • Select multiple photos or videos in the Photo timeline and select Free up space


Remember to empty Recently Deleted

Remember to empty Recently Deleted in the Photos app on your iPhone and iPad after you have used Free up space in Onlime. If you do not do this, the content will stay on your device for 30 more days.


Free up space and iCloud

When you free up space with Onlime, the photos and videos will be deleted locally from your iPhone or iPad. If you have iCloud Photo Library enabled, the photos and videos you delete locally will also be deleted from your iCloud account.


Live Photos and Photo Burst

Onlime backs up Live Photos and can also delete these to free up space.

The Free up space feature does not work with Photo Burst.

Did this answer your question?